Connect with us

Local News

Abia: Ikpeazu swears in 27 new Commissioners, redeploys Kalu



Governor Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State has sworn-in 27 nominees as Commissioners into the Abia State Executive Council, at a ceremony held at Michael Okpara Auditorium, Umuahia, on Tuesday.

This was disclosed by Onyebuchi Ememanka, the Chief Press Secretary to the Abia Governor.

The swearing-in ceremony followed the screening and the confirmation of the commissioner-nominees by the State House of Assembly, which contained in a letter sent the house leadership by the Governor.

DAILY POST recalls that Governor Okezie Ikpeazu had in September, 2021, appointed new commissioner nominees to assist his administration in the dispensation of democracy dividends to the people through policy formulation and implementation.

The appointment was disclosed in a release signed by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Barrister Chris Ezem.

Speaking after the formal inauguration of the nominees as Commissioners, Governor Ikpeazu disclosed that the new Commissioners were carefully selected to support to drive his administration’s vision for a better life for ndi-Abia.

He also disclosed that his administration is on its final lap, and stated that the desire of Government to complete ongoing projects and possibly embark on new ones.

The Governor charged the new appointees to be active players in the socio-political and economic renaissance of the state.

He warned that there is nothing juicy in the appointments, and further cautioned those whose agenda is to line their pockets that they will be disappointed, and challenged them to see their appointments as calls to duty.

The Abia Chief Executive, assured that Government will substantially provide them with the resources to work with, but also admonished them to leverage their connections and wealth of experience in moving their various ministries forward.

He also advised them to remain loyal to the Government as those found wanting will be shown the way out.

Governor Ikpeazu, however, implored them to keep in touch with their localities as Government will be relying on them to galvanize support from the grassroot.

Responding on behalf of his colleagues, the new Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Barrister Eze Chikamnayo, thanked the Abia Governor for the privilege to be part of the State Executive Council and assured that they will not let the Government and the people of the state down.

The new Commissioners and their portfolios; Mazi Donatus Okorie – Ministry of Cooperatives and Rural development

Mr Ndom Godwin -Boundary Matters,
Chief Okezie Erondu, Ministry of Science and Technology

Professor Ikechi Mgbeoji, Ministry of Agriculture.

Pascal Karibe Ojigwe, Ministry of Sports.

Mrs Uwaoma Olewengwa, Ministry of Industry, Promotions and Development.

Prince Christopher Enweremadu, Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

Barr.Charles Esonu – Ministry of Youth Development.

Chief Chinagorom Nwankpa, Ministry of Housing.

Hon. Monday Ejiegbu – Parastatals

Deaconess Rose Urenta- Ministry of Women Affairs.

Chief Kingsley Imaga, Ministry of Public Utilities.

Chidiebere Uwagwu Kalu, Establishment and Training.

Barr. Chijioke Mark, Post-Basic Education.

Chief Chisom Nwachukwu, Ministry of Special duties/Vulnerable groups.

Mr. Sopuruchi Bekee, Ministry of Homeland Security.

Chief Eze Nwanganga, Ministry of Petroleum and Energy Development.

Barr Tony Nwanmuo, Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

Barr. Sam Nwogu, Ministry of Environment.

Others are; Dr Chidi Onwuchuruba, Ministry of Lands and Survey.

Mr Ugochukwu Emezue- Documentation and Strategic Communications.

Mrs Adaku Uwaoma Onusiriuka Oseiza , Ministry of Small and Medium Enterprises and New Businesses Development.

Barr, Eze Chikamnayo, Ministry of Information and Strategy.

Chief Godswill Uche Nwanoruo, Ministry of Transport.

Prince Obinna Okey – Inter -Governmental Affairs.

Chief Ukwu Rocks Emma, Ministry of Basic Education.

Barr Chinenye Emelogu -Joint Projects Implementations while the immediate past Commissioner for Information, Chief John Okiyi Kalu, is to serve as the new Commissioner for Trade and Commerce”.

According to the release by Ememanka, “the Deputy Governor Sir Ude Oko Chukwu, the Member representing Ukwa West State constituency, Hon. Godwin Adiele, the State Chairman of the PDP, Rt Hon Asiforo Okere, the Secretary to Government, Barrister Chris Ezem, Head of Service, Sir Onyii Wamah ,the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Prof-acb Agbazuere , the Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Deputy Governor, Sir Don Ubani among other distinguished Abians witnessed the ceremony while the oath of office was administered by the Solicitor General and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Mrs Uzoamaka Uche Ikonne”.